top of page
Search

A Local's Guide to Austin



After four wonderful years in the great city of Austin, it is finally my time to head out. I accepted an amazing opportunity to become part of a graduate program in San Antonio, Texas, and I am eager to start! However, I must admit, Austin has become so special to me. I never knew that a place could make me feel so genuinely happy. As such, I've compiled a list of my favorite things about this city.


1. Rooftop Bars


Prior to moving here, I never thought of myself to really be a "bar person," but a rooftop bar just really makes having a drink an experience. For example, The Westin's rooftop bar, Azúl, is among one of the coolest places that I've been to. At the top of the twenty-something story hotel, there's a gorgeous bar, and a heated pool along with cozy, private cabanas if you wanted a more intimate setting. Their drinks are some of the priciest drinks I've ever had, but it's almost worth it when you look at what's in front of you. Ahead, you'll see a 180-degree view of downtown Austin. If you want a night of romance, this is the place to go.


2. Speakeasies


If we're going to talk about bars, I have to mention some of Austin's coolest bars-- including a few speakeasies. Yes, they do still exist. Although, don't be confused by the bar in downtown Austin called "Speakeasy." While this bar is cool, I don't think it's necessarily a speakeasy. My favorite speakeasy is called "Firehouse Lounge." Right across from the Driskill Hotel, you'll find a tucked-away door with a guard out front. What's cool about Firehouse is that it is the oldest Firehouse in Austin. Later, it was converted into "Firehouse Hostel and Lounge." Once you enter, you'll find a person at a desk with stairs behind them, leading to the hostel. To the right, you'll see a large bookcase. Go ahead and pull it and step down into what is known as Firehouse Lounge. Inside this dark and intimate space, you'll find a bar with classic yet tasty drinks. This is the perfect place to impress your date or even take some tourists. But, shhh... don't tell anyone-- it is a speakeasy after all.


3. Karaoke


I have never been to so many different karaoke places in my life! From Punch Bowl Social, to Highball, to Korean karaoke rooms, they have them all. However, my favorite karaoke place has to be Ego's on South Congress. While they don't have private rooms, they do have very cheap (and yummy) drinks, along with a very supportive crowd. My go-to song is always "Bohemian Rhapsody" by Queen, and the crowd always cheers me on and sings along to the classic. Although I do have to usually wait a couple of hours to sing, as well as use some doorless bathroom stalls, this grungey karaoke bar feels homey to me in a way.


4. Comedy


The Austin comedy scene is killer. All over town, you'll find some sort of comedy, whether it be open-mic, standup, or improv, they have it all. My favorite place for comedy has to be Fallout Theatre in downtown Austin. On Wednesday nights, the all-women improv comedy troupe called "Garage" will have you dying of laughter. Moreover, they often have free drinks before each show. The cherry on top is the fact that the majority of ticket sales go to a local charity of their choice. Even if you don't think that comedy is your thing, I definitely recommend checking out "Garage" at Fallout.


5. Thrift Shops


Ah, one of the many things that made me fall in love with Austin at the young age of fifteen were thrift shops. All around Austin, you'll find so many kinds of thrift shops. However, my favorites are all along Burnet Road. Up and down the street, you'll find so many places that make Austin Austin. If you want some really cheap items, Savers is the place to go. Most of the time, I only pay $4 max per item! However, my favorite thrift shop has to be APA Thrift. Owned by the local animal shelter Austin Pets Alive, APA has a couple of thrift shops around town to help benefit the animals. Other than helping animals, another reason that I love APA is that I think that they have the best quality items for the price. If you've met me, I'll probably tell you all about my tags-on Ann Taylor blazer that I bought for $10 from APA! Go support some animals and get some rad outfits.


6. Bookstores


Something I love dearly about Austin is that many of the shops are locally-owned, and really have an Austin vibe about them. One of my favorite locally-owned shops in Austin is the feminist bookstore known as "Bookwoman." This tiny yet mighty bookstore has so many amazing books with stories of self-empowerment, lessons, and even some great historical fiction. My favorite section has to be the kid's section. There, you'll find kid's books on stories of real-world heroes! Moreover, they have amazing books on sex education, which, is so important. This place is so special to me because it often helps me remember just how badass women are.


7. Coffee Shops


There are a plethora of coffee shops in Austin. In this city, it's totally normal to see a person reading a book, working, or even just hanging out at a coffee shop. Coffee shops are definitely a staple here in Austin. If you're sick, go get some chai at Coffee Trader's, a locally-based and owned coffee shop here in Austin. If you're looking for a cozy place to read or even write, go to Monkey Nest! This place has amazing coffee and treats. Moreover, it's open 24/7! This is actually where I sometimes would go to write for my book. The ambiance is great because usually, everyone there is working on something, as well! Like almost every other place in Austin, once a week (usually Friday nights), they have local musicians come and play some tunes for you! Monkey Nest will forever have a special place in my heart.


8. Getting Lost


No, this isn't me telling you to "get lost..." well, maybe I am! Because the originally planned infrastructure for this city wasn't meant to house the current city's population, many of us Austinites get creative with our modes of transportation! Pretty much at any time of the day, you'll see herds of people walking all around town. As such, this is a great city to wander around and get lost in. Some of my favorite places that I've found around town came from me getting lost! For example, some of the best quesadillas you'll ever have are at Shiner's, a rooftop bar in downtown Austin. Also, by wandering around the city, you'll come across many gorgeous murals-- something the city is definitely known for!


9. The Food


Can you even talk about Austin without mentioning the food? Since so many people that live in Austin come from so many backgrounds, I think it makes sense to have a plethora of fusion food options. One of my favorite food places in great ATX has to be Torchy's. Although it's no longer solely an Austin joint, it is as its slogan states: Damn Good. If you want a classic burger option, Phil's Icehouse is the way to go. Owned by the Austin-famous Amy's Icecreams, Phil's is the go-to Austin burger spot. Lastly, for some authentic, best-you've-ever-had ramen, you need to go to Tatsuya Ramen. The first time I had this ramen, I almost cried from joy. I became a regular at Tatsuya in 2016 and never looked back at my life prior, which includes my old pants size #RIP.


10. The People


Although it is sad that the city is so gentrified, I did meet some of my most favorite people in the world in Austin. So many people there, now, come from so many different backgrounds and of all parts of the world. Some of the most genuine and kind people that I've met in my life, I've met while living there. Some of the friends that I made there gave me so many things I didn't know that I was lacking like self-love, self-worth, and happiness. They helped me step into my truest self and gave me the confidence I needed to finally stand up for her. To them, I am forever grateful for giving me the best gift that I could have ever received: acceptance.


Austin became my escape; I never knew that even a "normal" day could feel so fun. Living in Austin felt as if I was living the life of my dreams-- free, independent, and accepted in every sense. When I'm there, I suddenly feel like I can breathe again, not just because of the lack of allergens (for me), but also because I know that I can truly be myself when I am there.


Austin is definitely a great place to live in your young twenties. You'll see things you never knew possible, feel things that feel like magic, and do the impossible. If you're looking for a place where you'll feel accepted, a fresh start, or even a new home, I definitely recommend Austin, Texas. What a gift this city has been.


Thank you, Austin.

80 views1 comment
bottom of page